Uncategorized

An Ode To The Dance Class That Never Was

My daughter has never met you, seen you across the dance floor; Yes
Looked at you, face to face; No
This is an ode to the dance class that never was


Hip Hop Dance Class Saturday’s
Termly classes (*pretty sure “termly” is not a word)
She is 4 years old and I reckon’d this would be a cool way for her to meet other kids, besides her “creche” buddies
I was right
I was wrong
She never took to it
We went home and practiced
She remembered everything you taught the class
The class she was suppose to be apart of
I saw other mom’s “force” (for lack of a better word) their kid/s into particpating, all the while thinking “Give them time” “They’ll come around”
R500 and 2 weeks in, she still hasn’t come around
The deal was – dance class and then the park; best of both worlds, right?
After a while, I thought “Maybe she is too young for extra curricular activities” “I’ll try again next term” “Maybe when she’s 6, then she’ll be less shy”
Problem is, she’s my kid. Single mom me. Just as bad an introvert as me. I’d participate but I was more inclined to decline.
I would much rather stay at home, be alone
I would much rather go out, be alone
I enjoy me
I enjoy my company
Not the best trait to pass onto a already shy and moody-as-fuck 4 year old
Dance Class Teacher, be not afraid. She might’ve only “come” to 2 classes, R500 later.
Dance Class Teacher, be not afraid. She might’ve sat on my lap and chewed her nails, R500 later.
Dance Class Teacher, be not afraid. We went home and practiced, R500 later.
Dance Class Teacher, be not afraid. We saw you in the mall once, and she knew who you were, R500 later.
Dance Class Teacher, be not afraid. We might come back……for your private classes, more than R500 later.

 

Zineah - Blog

Leave a Reply

