Mommy Behind The Blog | Newbie Mommy Jonelle

What is your name? Jonelle

How do you identify yourself?

This is an interesting question, I think it changes as you get older. Now that I’m about to become a mother, the title mom is becoming more and more important to me but for the last few years it has been community development practitioner, writer, student, friend, wife, sister, daughter… there are so many variations to the description that I give myself. One that never changes though, is independent. I take great pride in being able to do things for myself.

How many kids do you have? Ages? Girl? Boy?

I don’t have any yet but my first baby, a boy, arrives in September so right now I’m looking a little rounder than I’m used to!

Are you married/single?

I’ve been married for nearly three years to the most amazing man I could ever have imagined. He has literally changed my world and the way I do things. I feel so lucky to wake up next to him every single day.

Stay at home mom or fulltime employed?

I quit my full time job in October last year and have been working from home since then. I started my blog to document that journey and couldn’t be happier.

When did you start blogging?

I’ve been writing informally in blogs for as far back as I can remember… I think I started my first blog in 2002 but I never took it very seriously as I was always so busy with my education. Tyranny of Pink was started in January 2015 when I finally decided that this is what I want to do with my life – write for the love of it.

Why did you start blogging?

As I mentioned above, I started blogging this time around to document my transition from full time employee to where I am now. I’m happier than I thought I’d ever be and with my baby on the way, I’m just thrilled that I don’t have to worry about dealing with maternity leave and worrying about who will take care of him when I go back to work.

Do you do any sponsored post?

At the moment, I’ve turned down a couple of brands because they weren’t in line with my blog. I don’t want to say that I don’t want to make money from blogging but I wont just accept any offers I get. I have to believe in what I do. If the right sponsored post came along then I’d do it.  The same applies for competitions.

What is your blog about?

Tyranny of Pink is a blog about being who you are and not feeling like you need to apologise for it. I write about various things that we all expereince at some point in our lives like coping with death or the end of relationships and how not to let those things get you down. I also write a lot about my journey to pregnancy, which I’ve struggled with a bit.  My blog has been descibed as a “self –help” type blog  which I suppose I agree with, but it’s a personal take on coping with life and excelling at being yourself.

What do you love about being a mommy blogger?

Honestly I think the sense of community is what I love most. That there are other women out there, going through what you’re going through and you don’t have to feel alone in your journey. I read more mommy blogs now that I’m about to become a mom myself and I’ve learnt so much from these women who have been through it all. There are blogs about so many aspects of being a parent that I can’t help being thankful that someone else knows how I feel about so many issues.

As a mother, what is in your bag, like RIGHT NOW?

Haha, I haven’t quite arrived at the point of kid stuff filling up my bag so in general, my bag is filled with way more pens than I will ever need at once, my notebook (because I take one everywhere), about 8 different lipsticks, hand sanitizer and my wallet. Usually I just chuck my phone in and I’m good to go.

What are the struggles you face with being a mommy blogger?

I’m so new in this field, not just being a mommy blogger but being a blogger in general. I think there can be a lot of competition between bloggers and that can lead to drama which I’m not a fan of so that’s something to watch out for. Another struggle for me is trying to remember not to compare myself to bloggers who have been doing this for years already. When you’re just starting out you can get blinded by the numbers and lose focus. It becomes too easy to look at where others are and feel completely overwhelmed.

Three things you can’t live without?

I can’t live without my Macbook, my signature lipstick and my handbag!

What’s a normal day like for you?

I wake up every morning at 6:30 and check my social media. My husband makes coffee which we drink together in bed every morning while checking and responding to any urgent emails. Then I eat breakfast, get showered and move into my home office where I start planning my blog post for the day. I usually write a post in the morning, then edit, create graphics for it and schedule it in the afternoon. I have lunch around 12ish and start reading other bloggers posts of the day, commenting on the ones that interest me before doing any admin or more social media related tasks that need to be done. Around 5ish, my husband comes home and we usually make dinner and watch series for a few hours before crawling into bed at around 11pm.

Alone time? Do you even know what that is?

I spend a lot of time catching up with reading. I used to read a lot of fiction books but lately all my free time is spent reading blogs, articles online or business books. If I can, I like to combine reading with relaxing in the bath… nothing screams indulgence like lying in the bath with a book.

Words of wisdom?

Always be true to who you are. So many people will try and tell you how you should live your life or how you should raise your kids but you’ve got to do the things that make you happy. Follow your heart and ignore the people who try to force you to be someone you’re not. Be who you are and be completely unapologetic about it.

Goals for 2016?

I’m about to have a baby so right now, my only goal is to get to the end of 2015. I suppose 2016 will be about learning how to be a mom and juggling a career at the same time.

 

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Swaziland and only moved to Cape Town when I was 19 to attend university. I’m still a small town girl at heart and can’t stand the bustle of the big city. I’m happiest in nature, camping and chilling around a camp fire.

How did you come up with your blog name?

I wanted to name my blog Vintage Pink (after my signature lipstick colour) but the Url was already taken so I basically sat around thinking how I could incorporate the word “Pink” into a blog name. I’m a bit of a rebel and tend to do things my way so tyranny of pink just sounded right.

Tell us something that NO ONE else knows about you?

Ohhh now that would be telling wouldn’t it. I’m actually pretty open about myself and my life. I can’t think off the top of my head about anything that no one at all knows about me. I guess what surprises most people about me is my love for chick-literature… I can get lost for days in a girly book. I’m quite surprising in that way. I suppose people who know me well are surprised that someone who attended University for ten years could just be happy reading books like that. At heart, I’m a hopeless romantic.

And lastly, tell us how becoming a mother has changed you……..

Since I got pregnant, everything about my world has changed. I am constantly thinking about what I’ll be like as a mother and wondering if I’ll get things right. I think becoming a mother is the moment when the world shifts for you and for the first time, someone else’s well being is more important than you own. I’ve been living my life just for me for the last 32 years and suddenly if I don’t take my prenatals, I could affect the outcome of my baby’s brain. There is so much more to life now than just me and living day to day.

The beautiful Jonelle 🙂

Jonelle Tyranny of Pink

Jonelle’s Social Media Links…….because I know you want to follow her #stalker #stalkeralert

 

web

twitter

fb

pint

insta

blogloving

One thought on “Mommy Behind The Blog | Newbie Mommy Jonelle

Leave a Reply

