Mommy Behind The Blog

Mommy Behind The Blog | Melanie Blignaut

What is your name? Melanie

How do you identify yourself? As a sleep-deprived, chocolate-craving, Jesus-following, homeschooling mom.

How many kids do you have? Ages? Girl? Boy? Two daughters. My eldest is five
(going on 15) and the youngest is almost three.

Are you married/single? Married, six years and counting, to my best friend.

Stay at home mom or fulltime employed? I teach preschool drama once a week, and have a couple of students I tutor in the evenings. I’ve recently started homeschooling the girls.

When did you start blogging? I started Wind in a Letterbox at the beginning of 2014.

Why did you start blogging? Mainly to stay sane and cope with sleep-deprivation and two children in nappies. I also wanted to encourage other moms.

Do you do any sponsored post? No, but I might if I think it’s a good fit for my blog.

Competitions? Only one so far.

What is your blog about? My faith and how that affects my marriage, my parenting and how I live my life. I also write about homeschooling and crafts.

What do you love about being a mommy blogger? I think the mommy blogging community is fantastic and generally very supportive of one another.

As a mother, what is in your bag, like RIGHT NOW? My purse, a tube of Labello, some cherry Zam-Buk, a flash drive, an empty sunglasses case, several old shopping lists, a pen, some loose change, tissues, a notebook, a pen, tampons, hand lotion, wet wipes, an empty Jelly Tots packet and a chocolate bar that I bought for my husband (and am trying very hard to resist eating before he gets home!).

What are the struggles you face with being a mommy blogger? Finding the time to blog with two children.

Three things you can’t live without? My contact lenses. Lip balm. A bra.

What’s a normal day like for you? Wake up with “Mommy. Mommy! MOMMY!” before my alarm goes off. Make coffee for my husband, and breakfast for my youngest. Have some tea, shower, have my devotion, make breakfast for my eldest (and youngest, again). Get them dressed. Do school. Put my youngest down for a nap. Work on the computer while my eldest plays. Feed the girls. Try not to fall asleep. Make supper. Bath the girls, put them to bed, think about what work I should do. Ignore the work and spend time with Hubby, or read, or sleep early.

Alone time? Do you even know what that is? I get to shower without an audience these days, and sometimes I get to use the toilet by myself. Woohoo!

Words of wisdom? Have that last piece of chocolate. You only live once.

Goals for 2016? I haven’t thought that far ahead. 🙂

What’s your favourite activity to do with your child/children? We love to craft. Consequently, there’s a permanent sheen of glitter coating everything in our house.

Where did you grow up? Edenvale, Gauteng.

How did you come up with your blog name? I love the Beatles. My blog’s name comes from the song ‘Across the Universe’.

Tell us something that NO ONE else knows about you? Something NO ONE knows? That’s hard. Hmm. Okay. I don’t floss every day. (Don’t tell my dentist.)

And lastly, tell us how becoming a mother has changed you…….. I’ve learned that I’m nowhere near as patient as I thought I was. I’ve learned how little I actually know about anything. I’ve learned how much love a heart can hold. I’ve learned sleep-deprivation will not actually kill you, though it might make you crazy.

The gorgeous Melanie & Family 🙂

10858406_10154929307275103_2856771001175861314_n

Melanie’s Social Media Links…….because I know you want to follow her #stalker #stalkeralert

web

fb

insta

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

