Mommy Behind The Blog | Lindsay Thomas

What is your name?

Lindsay – Leigh Thomas

How do you identify yourself?

Wife, Mother, Business Owner (Love Made Me) and aspiring Mom Blogger

How many kids do you have? Ages? Girl? Boy?

I have 2 boisterous boys, Daniyal (6) and Joshuah (2)

Are you married/single?

Married

Stay at home mom or fulltime employed?

I wish I was a WAHM but for now I’m a fulltime employed Mom in the Private Healthcare Industry and after 4pm I’m a WAHM.

When did you start blogging?

I wrote my first blog post in on 31 July 2014 on “Being a Mom of 2”

Why did you start blogging?

I blog to learn, I blog to connect, Lastly blog to share and heal

Do you do any sponsored post?

Yes I have done a few

Competitions?

Yip, everyone loves a competition and I enjoy sharing awesome goodies

I mean, who doesn’t LOVE to win something

What is your blog about?

I try and share the good, the tough and the fun side of life and parenting while trying to embrace my lumps, bumps and wonderful post baby body. Having kids has changed every aspect of my life, and changed my body in so many ways but I think I’m rocking my Mom rolls proudly.

What do you love about being a mommy blogger?

Its amazing how your support circle and knowledge base grows when you enter this world. I have met some awesome bloggers that I’ve been following for a few years which has been great. I’ve been fortunate enough to liaise with brands I personally support and recommend, and I’ve made a few new friends along the way.

As a mother, what is in your bag, like RIGHT NOW?

Wet wipes, a sock, 3 Oatees, purse, lipstick, tissues and a mirror

What are the struggles you face with being a mommy blogger?

Time, or the lack thereof. Life just happens way too fast for me to cope with sometimes. I say I’m a aspiring Mom Blogger as I honestly don’t feel as though I’m “meeting the standards”. There’s a lot of pressure out there, with very competitive Mom bloggers, with brands and with followers. I don’t want to pop out posts just for the sake of having something there, but I do admire those Mom bloggers who are able to do this.

I want my posts to be appropriate to me, my life, where we’re at.  Unlike many other bloggers, I don’t have a background in PR / Journalism / Writing.

I’m me, and that’s all I can be. I speak to other Moms who are just like me.

Three things you can’t live without?

My Husband, my Boys and probably my family (I’m very family orientated, I need to have my Parents and Siblings and niece and nephew around me)

What’s a normal day like for you?

Alarm goes off at 4:55am and I get my day started, I get done for work, get the lunches and clothes ready and then I hit the road at 6:30am. I start my day job at 7:30am and end at 4pm. I work in the Property Management Department for a Private Healthcare Group. Then I rush off to collect the boys from school, get home, cook, clean, do washing, fit in some QT with the kids, do supper, bath and bed time. Once boys are down I start with orders which are pending on my side and inbetween this, spend QT with the Hubby. Eventually we roll into bed anywhere between 10 and 11pm.

Alone time? Do you even know what that is?

Oh, the 20min shower I have in the morning. Does that count? Gone are the days where I get to go to the hairdresser and just sit and relax or have my nails done regularly or even go to the bathroom with the door closed.

Words of wisdom?

Be you!

Learn to love and embrace who you are and not who you think you should be.  You were beautifully and wonderfully made.

Goals for 2016?

Grow my little business

Get back into shape

Focus on my blog

What’s your favourite activity to do with your child/children?

This would definitely have to be any arts / crafts / DIY related anything. I love getting creative with them. Be it by painting, drawing or decorating cupcakes.

Where did you grow up?

Predominantly in Cape Town but our family were missionaries, so we travelled a bit throughout Cape Town, in Stilfontein, and later Uzbekhistan (yip you heard correct).

How did you come up with your blog name?

After having kids it sort of just happened

Tell us something that NO ONE else knows about you?

I wish I was a ballerina

And lastly, tell us how becoming a mother has changed you…

Where do I begin? Let me summarize, a few of the things which I have had to learn and accept which have made me a better Mom to my boys.

Raising a child, whether on your own or with your partner is always hard work, no matter your age, race, religious beliefs. We are all in this together, so learn to stand together and support those who need it. It really takes a village to raise a child. Embrace yours. Even Superman needed someone. I definitely rely on my support system. Being independent doesn’t mean you have to do it on your own. Some of the most awesome friends I have made was via a Pampers Mom chat group and 7 years later and we’re still going strong.

Time flies

One day you’re pregnant and the next you’re potty training. Don’t sweat the small stuff, live in the moment and enjoy the few minutes you have with your child. It took me a few years to accept this but now that I have, life has been better.

Patience

I’m not the most patient person in the world, but raising another human being definitely tests your patience levels. Learn to breath, say “This too shall pass” often and if all else fails, fake it till you learn it.

Having children takes a lot of sacrifice

You are no longer in control and that is fine. Accept that these little humans take your time, your energy, your money, your freedom, your privacy and your bed. Enjoy it, soon they won’t want to be around you (you know, its so uncool to like your parents). Just enjoy the journey, no matter how challenging the ride.

__________________________________

Lindsay’s Social Media Links…….because I know you want to follow her #stalker #stalkeralert

web

pint

twitter

fb

insta

Leave a Reply

