Mommy Behind The Blog | Eleanor Douglas – Meyers

What is your name?

Eleanor Douglas-Meyers

How do you identify yourself?

Craft obsessed, working mother, wife, small business owner and blogger

How many kids do you have? Ages? Girl? Boy?

I have a two-year-old boy named Aidan and an angel baby named Logan

Are you married/single?

Married

Stay at home mom or fulltime employed?

I like to think I have the best of both worlds: I do newspaper design and layout Monday to Wednesday and I work from home making handmade kids accessories on Thursdays and Fridays for my business oh!boy kids accessories and creating for a gifting business I run with a friend called Gifts&Goodies

When did you start blogging?

I think it is five years now, but I only recently started “taking it seriously”

Why did you start blogging?

I was working as a journalist at the time and also blogged for the publication I was working for, I loved the blogging thing, but was not allowed to use my “own voice” so I started JustEllaBella as an outlet of sorts.

Do you do any sponsored post?

I do, when they come up and match my blog I definitely do them.

Competitions?

YES! My readers love them so I have been known to even buy/make my own prizes

What is your blog about?

It’s just a personal blog that touches on life experiences, crafts, with some posts on child loss

What do you love about being a mommy blogger?

The people my blog has introduced me to, especially on the SA mommy blogger network

As a mother, what is in your bag, like RIGHT NOW?

Hand sanitiser, wipes and busy bags (These quiet toys I make in cloth bags) and I’m willing to bet there are raisins in there for him to snack on too

What are the struggles you face with being a mommy blogger?

Not feeling “good enough” like why would people want to read what I have to say.

Also getting intimidated by all the other blogs out there, I have to keep reminding myself that I need to stick to my guns and do me.

Three things you can’t live without?

My phone

Hair clips

Sweet treats – sad as I’m insulin resistant

What’s a normal day like for you?

Mon-Wed… I get up at an ungodly hour, to shower and hand son over to my mom, in car to work by 6.15, get to work after  7 (my detective husband starts then and we live “out of town”) I then usually pull out the laptop and blog till the rest of the workforce arrives.

Back home hubby cooks (it’s his hobby and partially why I can’t lose weight) while I hang with lil one. After supper and some tv, I bath Aidy, then while I sort out packed lunches for three of us it’s dad and son time.

Thur-Fri… I drop son off at school myself then I either do some sewing for Oh!Boy or create for Gifts&Goodies (depending on orders). Pick up Aidy at 12 and juggle the day…I cook on these days…

I try to fit exercise in at least every second day.

Alone time? Do you even know what that is?

That’s sadly what I get in the office before anyone else arrives, oh and on Saturday mornings I wake up extra early so the boys are still asleep and I can do and watch whatever I want

Words of wisdom?

Uhm…. Do you! Seriously life is not a competition and death comes quickly, no use chasing a trophy you don’t even want, so do what makes you happy, oh and smile at strangers it will either make their day or annoy them, either way, you win.

Goals for 2016?

This year I kind of redid my life, quit my job, started online studies, started a business, attempting exercise and healthy eating again… honestly think 2016 will be a year of settling in and just enjoying my little family

What’s your favourite activity to do with your child/children?

CRAFTING and BAKING!!! I have a two year old that goes into a craft store and says things like “we must buy these eyes and make monsters” or explains that you need to “tap the eggy to open”

Where did you grow up?

Uitenhage, Eastern Cape

How did you come up with your blog name?

I have a friend who calls me ella bella and since my blog doesn’t have a single focus I thought JustEllaBella

Tell us something that NO ONE else knows about you?

I’m so open about myself I can’t think of anything except the fact that I never wanted to have a kid, the idea of pregnancy and having a human in my belly really freaked me  out.

And lastly, tell us how becoming a mother has changed you……..

Well for one I can do most anything with one hand now hehehe

I also appreciate my time more because kids really grow so fast, you blink and you miss a lifetime

The beautiful Eleanor aka Ella and family 🙂

 

bella

Eleanor’s Social Media Links…….because I know you want to follow her #stalker #stalkeralert

 

web

insta

fb

twitter

pint

Leave a Reply

