Mommy Behind The Blog | Maz

That’s what she is known as….seriously. I don’t know her by any other name 🙂

______________________________________________________________________________

What is your name? Mariza, but everyone knows me as Maz.

How do you identify yourself? Semi-human

How many kids do you have? Ages? Girl? Boy? I have two gorgeous kids, Mikayla Rose is 4 and Knox is 8 months old.

Are you married/single? Happily married!

Stay at home mom or fulltime employed? Fulltime employed

When did you start blogging? September 2014

Why did you start blogging? I did an interview on being a mom with tattoos, and I just felt like I had so much more to say. It is also a form of therapy to me, and it was a lovely way to document my second pregnancy.

Do you do any sponsored post? Every now and then – I am very picky when it comes to brands that I am willing to work with.

Competitions? Yes, I love hosting competitions and do about one a week – it’s nice to give back to your readers.

What is your blog about? It is about embracing our differences, it is about parenting, real-life struggles, triumphs – so much. It is whatever I want it to be on any given day, to be honest.

What do you love about being a mommy blogger? The fact that my readers are so loyal, and they know exactly what I am going through. I love getting e-mails from moms who are either going through the same thing as me or who I have helped in some way. I like that it is not a bitchy community, but that we help each other and from friendships amongst each other.

As a mother, what is in your bag, like RIGHT NOW? In my handbag? Wet wipes (of course), make-up bag, wallet, a Squish fruit juicy bag, one of the rocks Mikayla picked up (it is magical), a couple of dummies, my iPhone and a spare charger, lip balm, sunscreen, sunglasses, a pen and notebook, a sewing kit with pins and spare button, mints, hand lotion and a gift from my cat – I literally just found a lizard tail in my bag… OMG.

What are the struggles you face with being a mommy blogger? Not being taken seriously, I feel brands expect us to do everything for free? Also, finding a balance between spending time with my family, working and blogging. There is just not enough time!

Three things you can’t live without? Coffee, Family and Lists.

What’s a normal day like for you? I wake up at 5am, and if Knox is still asleep I slip away to go to gym or do some yoga in the living room. At about 6:15 Knox will wake up and I will give him his bottle – then hubby wakes up and cuddle with him while I have a shower. My husband will then wake my daughter up for school and make us breakfast while Knox watches me get ready or chills with his sister. We do the usual, have breakfast, pack school lunches, get everyone dressed, pack school bag, pack baby bag… at about 7:45am I load Knox and all of his stuff in my car and drop him off at his gran for the day while I go off to work. At work I start my day with more coffee, reading and responding to e-mails, having meetings, doing research, sketching, choosing and sourcing fabrics and trims, networking, etc. I finally get to go home at 5pm, and I will have my hubby and kids waiting for me there ♥. It is the best feeling to walk through those doors after a long day… I then give Knox his supper and my husband and I will take turns cooking. I spend time with the kids until supper is ready. We all eat together, after that I will run the kids’ bath. After their baths we read them a bedtime story and Mikayla goes to sleep. Knox stays up for a bit longer… We then pack the dishwasher, sort out the clothes and tidy up. Knox then has a bottle and he will fall asleep in my arms on the couch – hubby and I then watch our favourite series together – that is how we wind down. We then go off to sleep, hoping that the kids sleep through the night!!

Alone time? Do you even know what that is? Yeah, I don’t really get it when moms say they do not have time for themselves. Sure, it is not easy – but it is your responsibility to make time. It is not impossible… My idea of alone time is a long, hot bubble bath with candles and a good book after the kids have gone to bed ♥

Words of wisdom? With every rainfall comes a brighter day.

Goals for 2016? To go on more family adventures!

What’s your favourite activity to do with your child/children? I love taking Mikayla on mommy & daughter dates, and I love lying on the couch with Knox sleeping on my chest. I love cuddling with them, having movie nights, having picnics in the sun… so many happy and wonderful moments.

Where did you grow up? On a farm near a small town called Upington.

How did you come up with your blog name? My favourite thing (caffeine) and Mikayla’s (fairydust).

Tell us something that NO ONE else knows about you? My life is an open book! Um…. My natural hair colour is platinum blonde?

And lastly, tell us how becoming a mother has changed you…….. It is impossible to put into words. Absolutely impossible…. What I can tell you is that it saved my life. That it made me a better person in more ways than you can ever image and it has filled my heart with love and joy. It has made me love my husband more, it has made me more afraid of the world, it has made me see the beauty in life and I finally see time for what it is.

 

The beautiful Maz & her kids

10363841_1010048899007695_5234871079346525977_n 11015197_990727744273144_2559324562520822330_n 11092115_990726977606554_1831094153311078244_n 11182031_990775400935045_62102597820523669_n 11737966_1031865993492652_3130172977053561417_n

 

Maz’s Social Media Links…….because I know you want to follow her #stalker #stalkeralert

web

twitter

 

insta

fb

zomato

 

Leave a Reply

