Mommy Behind The Blog

Mommy Behind The Blog |Cindy Alfino

This is the VERY FIRST post in this new series…….Thanx to Cindy Alfino for being the first Mommy ; I had such a good laugh 🙂

_____________________________________________________________________________________

What is your name?  Cindy Alfino although I don’t seem to hear that nearly as much as I hear, “Mom! Mommy! Moooooom!”

How do you identify yourself?  I’m a mother, wife, daughter, sister, business owner, yoga novice, gym goer, series addict, reader, moth hater, Nik Nak lover and a soon to be Aunty.

How many kids do you have? Ages? Girl? Boy?  I have three kids – two girls and a boy.  Kyla is 6 years old (Kyla’s Birth Story), Riya-Ray is 5 years old (Riya -Ray’s Birth Story)  (there’s only a year and two week gap between them) and Knox is about to turn 3 in September (we share a birthday).  (Knox’s Birth Story)

Are you married/single?  I met Seth way back when I was 16 (How They Met), we dated for a couple of years and got married when I was 20(How They Got Married).  Despite the odds, we’re still going strong 8 years and 3 kids later.

Stay at home mom or fulltime employed?  I’ve managed to hit the sweet spot by doing a bit of both.  I work from around 8.30 (after I’ve dropped them off at school) and come home around 2pm most days to be able to cart them to ballet or playdates and do homework.

When did you start blogging?  Back in 2010.  But really only started taking it “seriously” in around 2013.

Why did you start blogging?  After I had my first baby and then shockingly my second baby so shortly thereafter I felt so alone.  None of my friends had kids and I just felt like no one knew what I was going through.  So I started writing to reach out to others that may also be in that position.  Since then it’s evolved a lot, but in essence, that’s still what I want to do – connect to other women, especially other moms to let them know they are not alone in this muddy world of parenting.

Do you do any sponsored posts?  I do the occasional sponsored post when I feel like my readers would actually want to read about it.  No matter what it is, I really try very hard to still make it personal and worth reading, even if you’re not interested in the specific topic of the post.

Competitions?  We do a fair amount of giveaways.  Through the blog I have been able to experience many things, and it brings me such joy to pass those experiences on to my readers too.

What is your blog about?   At the root of it you will always find an undercurrent of “parenting” to my blog and content.  But we’re about more than just explosive nappies and burp cloths.  We have many interests as a family and you will find many of them popping up on the blog.  This includes kids fashion, travelling in and around South Africa, tattoos, what it’s like being in a mixed race family, kids crafts, themed parties and real life, honest posts about being a mother.

What do you love about being a mommy blogger?  There is so much to love.  I think the main thing, besides having a record of our life to look back on, is that I get to connect with other moms.  Hearing from other moms about how my words have helped them through something is something that makes it all worth it.

As a mother, what is in your bag, like RIGHT NOW?  We’d probably have better luck with what’s NOT in my bag.  OK, here goes.  My wallet, my ID book, about 5 different lip products – no wait, after counting there is 10 different lip products, a pack of Strepsils, a business card holder, hand cream, a bottle of my concealer that I need to go to Mac to replace, eye drops, 3 pens, 4 glittery kids bracelets, 2 acorns, 5 Stickees, 6 hair ties – all broken, a pack of mints that managed to open and disperse themselves all over the bottom of my bag, a kids badge, 10 mints, a stray red ribbon and a handful of unidentifiable crap.  I think I need to clean out my bag.

What are the struggles you face with being a mommy blogger?  There aren’t many really.  I guess the main thing is protecting our privacy by making sure we don’t give out any information about the kids school, where we live etc.  And sharing too much that my kids will hate me for when they’re older.

Three things you can’t live without?  Um, make up (specifically foundation, bronzer, mascara and eye brow pencil), my phone (it has everything in it – including the diary for all 5 of us) and Nik Naks.

What’s a normal day like for you?  It starts with me wishing that I could sleep in a bit longer, followed by pushing it till the very last second to get out of bed.  Then there’s a mad rush to get the kids dressed, fed, brushed and ready for school.  The school run and then traffic on the way to work.  Working.  Leaving in a rush to get to my kids on time.  Taking them home.  Referring a hundred fights, making supper, doing homework, eating supper, bathing kids, putting them to sleep and then Seth and I finally relax on the couch and watch series.

Alone time? Do you even know what that is?  Driving in the car to and from work alone, counts as me time right?  For a very long I didn’t know what that was, and when I did, I felt guilty for having it.  But now I realise how important it is and while it’s not very often, I do value that little gap.

Words of wisdom?  Gosh. Uh, I’m not very good with advice.  I guess the rule I stick by is not to sweat the small stuff.  No use getting upset that they weren’t in bed and sleeping at exactly 7.15pm or freaking out about a messy room etc.  Kids are kids and you’ll drive yourself freaking nuts if you don’t accept that.

Goals for 2016?  Keep producing relatable content.  If that means we gain more readers that’s great!

What’s your favourite activity to do with your child/children?  We enjoy a pizza and movie night when we can (usually Friday nights), but I really enjoy watching them learn new things.  So going with them to see their very first movie, or the suspense of a theatre production, or walking around a new town, or trying new flavours of ice cream.  That kind of thing.

Where did you grow up?  Cape Town – born and bred.  In fact, barring a short hockey tour to Namibia and a honeymoon in Durban, I’ve never been anywhere else.

How did you come up with your blog name?  It’s one of the hardest things to do and we were stuck for a long time.  Originally it was 3 girls, 2 dogs and 1 guy, but then we had Knox and changed it.  We went with the literal, because it kind of sums up exactly what it’s all about.

Tell us something that NO ONE else knows about you?  I’m not sure that there’s anything that NO ONE knows – I tell just about everything.  But one time (shortly after I got my drivers license) I was pulling out of a parking bay in reverse.  Now usually, you wait till you’re basically all the way out before you start turning the steering wheel to point the car in the direction to be able to drive.  Not me.  I was still so nervous every time that I drove that I started turning the wheel like half way out the parking bay.  Obviously this meant that the front of my car turned into the bakkie next to me.  Undeterred I kept going, which resulted in the bakkie actually lifting up a bit.  At that point I realised that maybe I was being a chop and should probably go and hand in my drivers license at the nearest traffic office.  The good news is that I managed to get out of the parking spot eventually – been scared of parking ever since haha.

And lastly, tell us how becoming a mother has changed you……..  How hasn’t it changed me?  Seriously, it’s changed the way I think, what I do, how I act.  It’s quite something having to be someones role model and having someone to love even more than yourself.

The beautiful Cindy Alfino & her family

Cindy Alfino & The Family

Cindy’s Social Media Links…….because I know you want to follow her #stalker #stalkeralert

web

blogloving

fb

insta

pint

twitter

 

One thought on “Mommy Behind The Blog |Cindy Alfino

Leave a Reply

